Fee Schedule and Other Requests
At the direction of the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia, the following rates shall be in effect beginning January 1, 2017.
- Reciprocity Application Filing Fee - $2,000
- Military Spouse Application Filing Fee - $150
- Limited Permission Application Filing Fee - $0
- Bar Exam Application Filing Fee - $500
For students, law school graduates not admitted in any jurisdiction, and attorneys admitted less than one year
- Attorney Bar Exam Application Filing Fee - $800
For attorneys admitted one year or more applying for the bar exam
- Late Filing Fee - $200
For bar exam applications postmarked April 2 to May 1 for July Exam or November 2 to December 1 for February Exam. Late filing fee is required in addition to regular filing fee for such applications. Applicants who have failed the West Virginia Bar Examination are not subject to the late filing fee for the exam immediately following the failed exam.
- Reinstatement Fee - $500 or $800 (plus the $200 late filing fee, if applicable)
For reapplying after having withdrawn within 60 days prior to a bar exam or after having failed to appear for a bar exam. Amount of reinstatement fee in such cases is the same as the application filing fee as determined above. Applicants who withdraw more than 60 days prior to a bar exam may transfer their original application fee to one subsequent exam within three years of the date the application was filed.
- MBE Transfer Fee - $50
Click the link and follow the instructions on the form to request your MBE score transfer from West Virginia to another jurisdiction.
- MPRE Score Request Form
Click the link and follow the instructions on the form to request an MPRE score reported to West Virginia prior to 1999. For an MPRE score earned in 1999 or later, the request must be made through the National Conference of Bar Examiners at ncbex.org.
- Copies of Past Applications
Click the link and follow the instructions on the form to request a prior bar application for your own records or for application in another jurisdiction. Our office will contact you regarding the required fee:
Microfilm per page - $1
Photocopies per page - $.25
- Bar Exam Score Request
To request a copy of your bar exam results, email firstname.lastname@example.org with your name (if your name was different at the time you took the examination, please include this information), date of birth, last four digits of your Social Security Number, and month/year you sat for the examination.
- Certificate of Good Standing
See the instructions at http://www.courtswv.gov/supreme-court/clerk/clerks-office.html
Make checks payable to “State of WV.”
Additional fees charged by agencies other than the West Virginia Board of Law Examiners but which may be required by the board in completing the application process include, but are not limited to, an National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) Character Report Fee, Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) testing fees, a fee to have an Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) score transferred from another state to West Virginia, or a fee for an equivalency evaluation (required of graduates of a law school outside of the United States). Travel expenses which may be incurred as a result of the application process might include travel for character interviews, for the West Virginia Bar Examination and for the Supreme Court Admission Ceremony.
The following fees are payable only after eligibility for admission has been established:
- Eligibility Certificate Fee - $5
- Admission Certificate for Framing (OPTIONAL) - $25