' of the registration or disciplinary agency of all state courts, the District of Columbia or of

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

At a Regular Term of the Supreme Court of Appeals continued and held at
Charleston, Kanawha County, on the 11" day of February 2010, the following order was|
made and entered:

RE: Amendment to Rule 8.0 of the West Virginia Rules of Admission to the Practice
of Law

On a former day, to wit, November 24, 2009 the Court published for comment the
proposed amendments to the Rules for Admission to the Practice of Law, Rule 8.0,
increasing the fee from $250.00 to $350.00 for each individual applicant in each individual
pro hac vice admission. Comments were filed by David Burton, Esq., Burton Kilgore &
Lazenby, P.L.L.C. and Karn Kahle, Esq., Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC.

On this day came the Court, on its own motion and proceeded to consider the
proposed amendment, after review of the comments filed. Upon consideration whereof,
the Court is of opinion to and does hereby adopt the following rule with said ainendment,
effective July 1, 2010. Deletions are indicated by strikethroughs and insertions are
indicated by underscoring, to read as follows:

“Rule 8.0 Admission pro hac vice.

(b) Admission process. - Before such privilege of appearance is granted, the
applicant shall provide to the judge, tribunal or other body before which the applicant
desires to appear, as well as to The West Virginia State Bar, a verified statement of]
application for pro hac vice admission listing (1) the action, suit, proceeding or other
matter which 1s the subject of the application; (2) the name, address and telephone number
the country in which such person is admitted; (3) the name and address of the member of]
The West Virginia State Bar who will be a responsible local attorney in the matter; (4) all
matters before West Virginia tribunals or bodies in which such person is or has been
involved in the preceding 24 months; (5) all matters before West Virginia tribunals or
bodies in which any member of the petitioner's firm, partnership, corporation or other

operating entity is or has been involved in the preceding 24 months; (6) a representation
by the applicant for each State, the District of Columbia or any other country where said




applicant has been admitted to practice, stating whether the applicant is in good standing|
with the bar of every such jurisdiction and that he or she has not been disciplined in any
such jurisdiction within the preceding 24 months; (7) an agreement to comply with all|
laws, rules and regulations of West Virginia state and local governments, where
applicable, including taxing authorities and any standards for pro bono civil and criminal
indigent defense legal services. A fee of two=hundred-fifty-dottars<($256) three-hundred
fifty dollars ($350) shall be paid to The West Virginia State Bar for each individual
applicant in each individual pro hac vice admission. The fee shall accompany the verified
statement of application for pro hac vice admission which is sent to The West Virginia
State Bar, and the applicant's motion for pro hac vice admission shall include a verified
statement that the fee of two=hundred three-hundred fifty dollars has been paid to The West
Virginia State Bar. Separate pro hac vice admission shall be required in every case in
which the applicant seeks to act as counsel. For purposes of this rule, each civil action with
a case number shall constitute a single case.”

A True Copy

Attest:
eply Clerk, Supreme Court of Appeals




