West Virginia Judiciary

Court Improvement Program

Court Improvement Program

The Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia established the West Virginia Court Improvement Program Oversight Board in 1995, which took over the Broadwater Committee’s work to improve outcomes for children and families in child abuse and neglect cases. The Court established the Broadwater Committee in the mid-1990s during Chief Justice Margaret Workman’s previous tenure on the Supreme Court, which was from 1988 to 1999.

The Court Improvement Program Board was created as a result of the federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. That act designated federal funding beginning in fiscal year 1995 for grants to state court systems to conduct assessments of their foster case laws and judicial processes and to develop and implement a plan for system improvement. The Oversight Board is the advisory group and task force to implement the program in West Virginia, and continues to obtain federal grant funding every year. Judge Derek C. Swope of the Ninth Judicial Circuit (Mercer County) is the chairman of the Oversight Board.

Court Improvement Program Oversight Board member list

Four subcommittees assist the Oversight Board:

Court Improvement Program Grants

The Court Improvement Program in West Virginia currently receives three federal grants, which are matched with state funds. They are referred to as the “Basic," “Training," and “Data Collection” grants.

Basic Grant

Projects funded by Basic grants include

Training Grant

Projects funded by Training grants include

Data Grant

Projects funded by Data Collection grants include

For more information about the Court Improvement Program, contact

Cindy Largent-Hill
Director, Children and Juvenile Services
Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia
Administrative Office
Capitol Building 1, Room E-100
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.
Charleston, WV 25305
(304) 558-0145 (main) or 304-558-6847 (direct)
Fax: (304) 558-0775
Email: Cindy Largent-Hill