West Virginia Judiciary

WV State Law Library

You can also do an Advanced Search or Federated Search.

POLICIES

Cell Phone Usage

Circulation

Computer Usage

Copyright and Fair Use

Fax Machine

Food/Drink

Inmate Requests

Photocopying

Wireless Access

CELL PHONE USAGE

As a courtesy to other Library patrons, we request that cell phones be turned off or set to vibrate only. If you must make or take a call, please complete your call outside of the Library.

CIRCULATION

The collection of the State Law Library is non-circulating to the public. No books or other materials may be checked to local attorneys or governmental entities except with the permission of the State Law Librarian. Staff members may not authorize the loan of materials.

Members of the public are encouraged and welcome to use any Library materials in-house and may make copies following the copyright and photocopying guidelines below.

COMPUTER USAGE

The Law Library has three public access computers available for patron use. These provide access to the Library online catalog, Internet websites, and the LexisNexis database with West Virginia primary materials. Patrons may use the terminals to access Westlaw.com using their personal authorized user names and passwords. Westlaw public access is not available currently.

Library computers are provided for use for legal research purposes only. Occassional use for access to personal email may be allowed if it does not interfere with others' use of the computers. Library staff may limit a patron's access time based upon the number of other patrons waiting to use the computers.

COPYRIGHT AND FAIR USE

The Copyright Law of 1976 (United States Code, Title 17) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. These photocopies or reproductions are not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for or later uses a photocopy or reproduction, including that made by electronic transmission for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

FAX MACHINE

The Law Library fax machine is located at the Library front desk in the Reading Room. The fax number is 304-558-3673. Charges to fax copies are $5.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page.

FOOD/DRINK

Food is not allowed in order to maintain a clean, safe library and minimize the risk of damage to library books, equipment and other property. We allow beverage consumption in the law library so long as beverages are in containers with tops, lids, or caps. All wrappers and empty containers should be properly discarded and tables or carrels tidied after use. Immediately report any beverage spills to Library staff.

INMATE REQUESTS

The State Law Library supplements the library collections of correctional facilities in the state of West Virginia and its political subdivisions by providing inmates with case and statutory law, secondary legal materials, and periodical articles limited to the most current five years.

This free service does not extend to inmates in the custody of the federal government, other states or foreign governments. Individuals in such institutions may request fee-based document delivery by mail.

Please note: doing extensive legal research, suggesting legal strategies, and giving legal advice are beyond the scope of our service. Inmate requests are filled at the discretion of the State Law Library staff and may be limited by time constraints and priorities set by the Court.

PHOTOCOPYING

If you are employed by a law firm or state government organization, you may establish a billing account allowing you to make photocopies for which you will be billed by mail at the end of each month. State agency employees should use their agency code. Public patrons may obtain the photocopier code from Library staff. Photocopies cost fifteen cents per page. Copies printed from self-serve public access computers are ten cents per page. Copies made on the Library's microfiche reader/printer are twenty-five cents per page. In-person patrons must pay for their copies at the Library front desk.

WIRELESS ACCESS POLICY

The State Law Library provides wireless Internet (WiFi) service free of charge. It is available in the Reading Room and library stacks to anyone who has a wireless computer or handheld device.  Library staff must log in each individual who wishes to use WiFi. Please see a staff person at the Library's front desk for access.