
WEST VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT OF APPEALS 

TERRY LEE PIllLLIPS, 

Appellant, 

WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF MOTOR 
VEHICLES, JOSEPH CICCHIRILLO, 
COMMISSIONER, 

Appellee. 

Supreme Court No. 35436 
Civil Action No. 08-C-143 
Order Date: 4-23-2009 

JAN 2 9 2010 

RORY L. PERRY. II. CLERK 
SUPREME COURT OF APPEALS 

OF WEST VIRGINIA 

TERRY LEE PIllLLIPS' 
PETITION FOR APPEAL 

Steven M. Thome 
Cook & Cook 
P.O. Box 190 
Madison, WV 25130 
(304) 369-0110 



BRIEF ON BEHALF OF APPELLANT, TERRY PHILLIPS 

HISTORY OF THE CASE 

The Appellant filed a Writ of Prohibition in the Circuit Court of 

Boone County, West Virginia, which was transferred to Kanawha County 

Circuit Court, alleging that the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles 

(DMV) improperly designated a conviction for an out-of-state moving 

violation as a hazardous driving offense, contrary to the facts and the law of 

the State of West Virginia. The Writ of Prohibition was denied by Order 

entered on April 23, 2009. The Appellant now appeals that decision. 

FACTS 

1. The Appellant, Terry Phillips, was issued a citation in the State 
ofVirgiuia for Reckless Driving on March 27,2007. The 
citation stated that he was driving 85 mph in a 65 mph zone 011 

interstate 77, which is a limited access highway. There were no 
other allegations of hazardous driving other than exceeding the 
posted speed limit by 20 mph. (See Petitioner's exhibit #1) 

2. Mr. Phillips contested the citation for reckless driving and 
retained counsel in the State of Virginia to represent his 
interests. On May 8, 2007, Mr. Phillips entered a guilty plea to 
Improper Driving pursuant to Virginia Code Section 46.2-869, 
which is the least restrictive moving violation within the 
Virginia Code. West Virginia does not have a corresponding 
statute. (Id.) 



3. Improper Driving in the State of Virginia is a lesser included 
offense to Reckless Driving where the degree of culpability is 
slight. No speed designation was detennined, however, it had 
to be less than twenty (20) mph over the posted limit or else he 
would have been convicted of Reckless Driving. (See 
Petitioner's exhibit #2) 

4. Reckless driving in the State of Virginia is the same as in West 
Virginia, in this case 20 mph over the posted speed limit with a 
six (6) point assessment. However, Improper Driving in the 
State of Virginia allows for a three (3) point assessment. 
Moreover, Improper Driving is categorized in the State of 
Virginia equivalent to speeding one to nine miles over the 
posted speed limit. (petitioner's. exhibit #3 at p.l, 3, 7 and 10) 

5. West Virginia Code Section 17B-IA-l Article IV(c) states 
as follow:" If the laws of a party state do not provide for 
offenses or violations denominated or described in 
precisely the words employed in subsection (a) of this 
article, such party state shaH construe the denominations 
and descriptions appearing in subsection (a) hereof as 
being applicable to and identifying those offenses or 
violations of a substantially similar nature and the laws of 
such party state shall contain such provisions as may be 
necessary to ensure that full force and effect is given to 
this article." 

6. West Virginia Code Section 17C-6-1(i) states: "If an owner or 
driver is convicted under the provisions of this section for the 
offense of driving above the speed limit on a controlled-access. 
highway or interstate highway of this state and if the evidence 
shows that the motor vehicle was being operated at ten miles 
per hour or less above the speed limit, then notwithstanding the 
provisions of section four, article three, chapter seventeen-b of 
this code, a certified abstract of the judgment on the conviction 
shall not be transmitted to the division of motor vehicles: 
Provided, That the provisions of this subsection do not apply to 
conviction of owners or drivers who have been issued a 
commercial driver's license as defmed in chapter seventeen-e of 
this code, if the offense was committed while operating a 
commercial vehicle." 



West Virginia Code Section 17C-6~1(j) states: "If an owner or 
driver is convicted in another state for the offense of driving 
above the maximum speed limit on a controlled-access highway 
or interstate highway and if the maximwn speed limit in the 
other state is less than the maximum speed limit for a 
comparable controlled-access highway or interstate highway in 
this state, and if the evidence shows that the motor vehicle was 
being operated at ten miles per hour or less above what would 
be the maximum speed limit for a comparable controlled-access 
highway or interstate highway in this state, then 
notwithstanding the provisions of section four, article three, 
chapter seventeen-b of this code, a certified abstract of the 
judgment on the conviction shall not be transmitted to the 
division of motor vehicles or, if transmitted, shall not be 
recorded by the division, unless within a reasonable time after 
conviction, the person convicted has failed to pay all fines and 
costs imposed by the other state: Provided, That the provisions 
of this subsection do not apply to conviction of owners or 
drivers who have been issued a commercial driver's license as 
defmed in chapter seventeen*e of this code, if the offense was 
committed while operating a commercial vehicle." 

7. Pursuant to 17B-IA~1 Article IV(Q, the West Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles is required to construe out-of­
state convictions for offenses not provided for in the West 
Virginia Code to similar offenses within the West Virginia 
Code. The West Virginia code section most similar to 
Improper Driving is Speeding less than ten mph over the posted 
speed limit. West Virginia Code SeCtion 17C-6-1(i) states that 
if you are less than ten (10) mph over the posted speed limit on 
a limited access highway there shall be no points assessed. 

8. The West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles improperly 
designated the Improper Driving convictions as a Hazardous 
Driving offense and assessed three (3) points to his license and 
included the ~'035" designation for hazardous driving. 



9. The designation of the DMV was improper because the most 
similar moving violation to Improper Driving is speeding less 
than ten (10) mph over the posted speed limit. There were no 
allegations of hazardous driving other than going twenty (20) 
miles over the posted speed limit. Further, there is no West 
Virginia Statue that allows for a three point assessment and the 
hazardous driving designation. The only way that a hazardous 
driving designation can be assessed in the State of West 
Virginia is for a conviction for Reckless Driving, Driving under 
the influence or some type of reckless endangerment, which 
requires a six (6) point assessment. 

10. In this case there is no evidence of hazardous driving oilier than 
the allegation of speed that was reduced to Improper Driving. 
In the State of West Virginia you can go nineteen (19) miles 
over the speed limit and you will be assessed three (3) points 
and no hazardous driving. The only method under West 
Virginia Law that the West Virginia DMV can assess a 
hazardous driving designation in this case would have been if 
Mr. Phillips had entered a guilty plea to Reckless Driving. 

11. By Order entered on April 23, 2009, the Court found that it was 
not clearly erroneous for the DMV to record the out-of-state 
conviction as "Driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep 
vehicle under control or hazardous driving". (Petitioner's 
exhibit #4) -

ISSUE 

Whether the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles erred by 

designating an Improper Driving conviction from the State of Virginia as a 

Hazardous Driving offense, which included a three (3) point assessment and 

an "035" designation, where the outMof-state conviction for Improper 



Driving was based solely on speeding less than 20 miles per hour over the 

speed limit. 

ARGUMENT 

FN1. Consistent with this Court's holding in State v. Hulbert, 209 W. Va. 
217, 544 S.E.2d 919 (2001), as with out-of-state domestic violence 
convictions, we emphasize that out-of-state Dill convictions may only be 
used as predicate offenses for charging a defendant with driving while 
revoked for DUI when the foreign statute under which the defendant was 
convicted contains essentially the same elements as those required for an 
offense under W.Va.Code § l7B-4-3(b). VVhen the foreign statute contains 
different or additional elements, it must be shm~lll that the factual predicate 
upon which the DUI conviction was obtained would have supported a 
conviction under West Virginia law. 

Under the Driver License Compact, each state is required to treat a 
conviction in a sister state in the same manner as it would an in-state 
conviction. Code, 12B-IA-l, 17B-IA-2. 

State v. Euman, 210 W.Va. 519, 558 S.B. 2d 319 (2001) 

The Petitioner has the· burden of proving that the West Virginia 

Division of Motor Vehicles erred by designating the Virginia Improper 

Driving offense. The facts in this case are not in dispute. He was charged 

with Reckless Driving for allegedly going 20 mph over the posted speed 

limit and entered a guilty plea to a lesser included offense of Improper 

Driving on a limited access highway. There were no allegations of 



hazardous driving other than exceeding the posted speed limit by twenty 

(20) mph. 

The law in this case, 17B-IA-l, requires the DMV to designate an 

out-of-state conviction to a West Virginia statue that is most similar. The 

defInition and penalties for Improper Driving in the Virginia Code are 

instructive. The State of Virginia categorizes Improper Driving as the least 

restrictive moving violation in their code. It is equivalent to Speeding less 

than ten miles per hour over the posted Speed linlit. 

West Virginia Code Section 17C-6-1(i) states that if you are convicted 

of going less than ten (10) miles over the speed limit on a limited access 

highway, such as an interstate, then no points shall be assessed. Three (3) 

points shall be assessed if you are convicted of.going ten (10) to nineteen 

(19) miles over the speed limit. West Virginia does not allow for a 

hazardous driving designation for either without other evidence. The West 

Virginia Code allows for a hazardous driving designation on if you are 

convicted of Reckless Driving or a higher offense or commit some 

hazardous act while driving that places the general public at risk of injury. 

The West Virginia code clearly states that driving one (1) to nineteen (19) 

miles over the speed limit is not a factor for hazardous driving. 



The defInition for Improper Driving is somewhat vague, but 

reasonable minds can determine that it is a speeding violation somewhere 

from one (1) to nineteen (19) miles over the posted speed limit. 

The Euman case reiterates West Virginia Code Section 17B-1A-1, 

Article IV©. Both require that the elements of the offense must be 

equivalent to the West Virginia Statute. Actually, there is no specific West 

Virginia statute for Hazardous Driving. It is the policy at DMV to designate 

Improper Driving as a hazardous driving offense because that is the way it 

has always been done. There are no facts in this case to support the 

designation for hazardous driving. The DMV has abused its discretion in 

this case. 

CONCLUSION 

The Appellant respectfully asks that this Honorable Court to issue an 

order requiring the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to remove 

the "035" hazardous driving designation from his driving record. 

I .. 
Steven M. Thome (#5534) 
P.O. Box 190 
Madison, WV 25130 
(304) 369-0110 
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PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT #2 
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.MOTOR WmCLES § 46.2-870 

the court may require successful completion of an aggre.qsive 
program. (2002, ce. 762, 782.) 

I'i'P.Eross xeferences. - As to penalties for to the Unifunn Dmlerit Point System, see 
1 and 2 misilemeMor.s. see § 18.1-11. As §46.2-492. 

46.2-869. Improper driving; penalty. - Notwithstanding the foregoing 
.. Ins {If tllis article. upon the trial of any person charged with reekless 

where the·aegree of culpability is slight, the court in its discretion may 
accused not guilty of reckle.as driving but guilty of improper driving . 

attorney for the o,mmonwealth may reduce a c~ ~f recld€ss 
nrnner driyi:n$ at any time prior to the court's decision and shall 

of such change. Improper driving shall be punishable as a 
plJDishable by a fine of not more than $500. (1966, c. 511. 

1972, c. 278; 1989, c. 727; 1990, c. 170; 2000, c. 340.) 

CASE NOTES 

Dote. - 'l'he eases belOl9 were de­
rOrIDU TiUe 4.6.1 or prior law. 

to l»e estab&bed beyond TellSOn­

dmlbl. - Both rrekJese driving end im­
driving are t:riminal offeru;es and '0 

.oanviction of .eithtt ·the Common­
S ~en~ must Ilstsbli3h guilt be:vcnd a 

dmlhl Baron v. Commonwealth. 220 
263S.E.2d a90 (1980). 
lvidence sufficient. - Where deren· 

~\'ing at ~ghl with admitted poor 
a seetmdary road with wbicb.he 

and when he approached an 

unobstructed. !>top sign. he akidded th.ruug.h the 
intersection. and dawn an emba.nkmenl Cl1nslug 
vehicle dam.age, the evidence was suffidlmt to 
support hia convid:ion for impl'OpeT driving. 
Hale v. Commonwealth. 23 Va. App. 587,478 
S:E-.2d· no n99G)" 

When evidence tnsufJicicnt. - The mere 
fact. tha1. aD aa.:idellt happened, .or that the 
automobile foll(J"Wed an enatic (!ourse for 362' 
ai'ter. it 'Im1& out of COIltrol, does not gi'n rise to 
an inference rol'eckJess driving or of improper 
driTing. Bacon Y. .commonwealth. 210 VA. 766. 
263 S.E.2d 890 (lSaO;. 

t:.x A i b:.J. {t-. '-' 



PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT #3 
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Commonwealth of Virginia De,partment of Motor VClliclt;:; 

Moving Violations and Point Assessments 

When you are convicted of a traffic violation, the court notifies the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV). DMV does the fonowing: 

• posts the conviction to your driving record; . 

. )It r::; assigns you demerit points according to the severity of the Of'fense] k" 
• issues an order of suspension, jf fclpplieable; 

• issue~ an order n~Cluiring the successful completion of a driver improvement clinic. 
if applicable; and 

• notifies your insuranoe company upon request. 

The following lists present thO traffic violations that rlsve demerit point::;. These 
violations are grouped according 10 ltle number of DMV clernerit points assigned to 
each violation. The number at years that the conviction ~tays on your DMV reoord i~ 
in pi:l.rentheses beside eaoh violation. An asterisk { ... ) Indicates that the conviction 

remains on your record pE'lrma.nsntly. 

DMV also posts to your record traffic violatiorJ!:! that do not enrry dsmerit points. 
These. hOwever. are not listed here. Demerit points will also be assigned to your 

recorO for trattic convictions incurred in other stat6S. 

f: .$j,!S Poinl Violl;ttIQlJi]- y'u.J./u • .s bf.;il, y 
a Four Point Vio/atiQlllil, 

/' L! Three Point Vlo,ati0§l,H--II'.y'-'" cbil/· ~ 

The length of time that a (;Ortviction stays on your mcord depends on the severity of 
the violation. If you receive an order or notice of revocation, suspension, 
disqualification or cancellation, your convictions couid remain on your record for even 

longer than specified in one of these lists. 

http://v.T\:Vw.dmv.state.va.us/webdotlcitizcn/driv<.:rs/poinL;; :l,,~ess.asp?pf=y 

Page 1 of 2 

4/1/200R 
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,,' Commonwenlth ofVirglnia Dt!pnrlment of Motor Vehiclt::-; . ' 

DMV demerit points remain on your record tor TWO years from the da!!'I that you 
commit the ofFense. The dates that demerit points are removed from your driving 
reoord ere not related to the dates that convir:t!onj; are removed from YOlJr record. 

Your Insurance company may also assign pomts on your InSiurance record; however, 
DMV demerit points are not related to insurance company pOints. Insurance company 
pOints arEt developed by inclivldual companies. 

DMV is not liable lor damages that may resull from errors on these lists. Fnr a full 
deSCription or violations and pel1allie:s, ¥ontact 11l1. Thislnforrnation may change 
without prior notice. 

6e sure to read A QifferenU;ind of CLash COl)r5'J! for more information about how 
DMV's Driver Improvement Program works. 

News!:'QQm I s.w SubseribeJO.DMY. W.B~t'd I Pt)d~Qsts I e1r,1s~I(!§ I W-<i'b f'iQIII)Y 

~ ~1r.giru!LO~p8rtmel'\t (If M01~Lv.:ehicl!t.1!.1P.tJ\V) 200e, AILrigDt8.Y:/tJlIJrved. 
P.O. Sox 27412 

Richmond, VA 2:325111 

h t lp:/ /www.amv.!itatc.va.u!;!webdoc!citizcn/rJri vers/poi nt5 a!\!;e~s.flSp '!p f'=y 

Page- 2 of 2. 

4/1f2008 
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Six Point Violations 

I F1!,!okless Dri'!.ln9 [ Driving l).Qde~ the IntIU.I;l.n~ I M~_Qslaugb.ter I Hablt!-HM!2f.tender§.i 
k!c~nses/Permits I Commercial.Mo[or Vt'.b.icles I Othor_Vlnlf,ttjqn~ I 

The number of years that tM conviction stays un your OMV record is in parentheses 
beside each violation. An asterisk ( .. ) indicates that the cunvic1ion remQins on your 
record perm;:;.nently. Demel"lt points will also be assigned 10 your record for traffic 
convictions incurred in Ctther stl:!tes. 

The violations listed may change witl)oul prior notice. 

Reckless Driving (Felony or Misdemeanor) 

• Reckless driving - speeding in excess of SO mpll (11 years) 

• Reckless driving ~ speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11 
years) 

• Reckless driving - rMlng (11 years) 

• Reckless driving - passing or overtl1klng an emergency vehicle (11 yoars) 

"" Reckless driving - passIng a sc/)Ool bus {11 years} 

til Reckless driving - passing on the creRt of a t1i11 (11 years) 

" Reckless driving· pa.se;ing at a railroad crossing (11 yearS) 

.. Ae<;ktess driving - passing two vohiclas abreast (11 years) 

• Reckless driving. driving two vehicles abreast (11 years} 

• Reckless driving· driving too fast tor conditions C1 1 yeElr~) 
III Recklt':!ss driving· falling to 9ivEt a p!OlJer signal (11 yc::ars) 
.. Reckless driving - faulty brdkes/improper oontrol (11 years) 

• Reckless driving· on pArking lots, etc. (11 year!;!) 

• Rer-kress driving· with an obstructed view (11 years) 

http://www.dmv.state.va.us!wcbuoc/ci lizl!n/dri vers/points 6.as p'! p[=y 

Page '1 nr 4 

.;t.I.I.I200N 



Cummunwealth of Virginia D~partment of Motor Veh.iclcs 

• Reckless driving - generally (11 years) 

• Speedin~l 20 mph or more above tile posted speed limit (5 years) 

Driving Under the Influence 

• Driving whilE; intoxioated (11 years) 

• Driving under tha influence of aloohol or drugs (11 years) 

• Driving under the influence 01 drugs C'1 yeartl') 

• Oriving .after illegally consuming alcohOl (persons under age 21) (3 years) 

• Driving while intoxicated· mairning (1 t years) 

• Involuntl!lry manslaughter/alcohol (11 years) 

• AiI'fusing blood/breath test (11 years) 

.. Driving while your license is !;I!sp~nded or r6!voked for driving while inh'Jxlcated (11 

years) 
• Driving wtlile your license is revoked for driving wrdle intoxicl:ited • maiming (' , 

years) 
• Driving while:: your license is revoked for driving while intoxk,;ated - involuntary 

manslaugtlter (11 years) 

r~.Elpl:< to Top) 

Manslaughter 

• MI.'lMSlaughter (' 1 years) 
• Involuntary manr-;I:'lllgnter (11 years) 

• Involuntary manslaughter/aggravated (11 yeaf£') 

Habitual Offenders 

• Driving aft8r being declared Ii hnbitual offender (11 years) 

• Authorizing person sLJ~pend6d for habitual offender and/or driving while 

intoxicated to drive (3 years) 

hnp:/ /www.dmv.slale.va.l1s/webdoc/C.itizen/drivC"Is/poinl:; n.lIl>p?pf=y 

Page::. of..j. 

4/1/2008 
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Commonwealth of Virg;nia Dcpartmeut of Motor Vehicles 

licenses/Permits 

• Driving on suspended license (11 years) 

• Driving while your license is su~pended or revoked (11 years) 

• Driving wtJile your license is slJspended or revoked for non·paymen1 of coutl rines 
and costs (11 years) 

• Driving under suspension or revocation before giving proof of fInancial 
responsibility (11 years) 

[~E!.cJU9.Topl 

Commercial Motor Vehicles 

• Driving commercial motor verlie!e while disqualffiAd {"'l 
• Driving commercial motor vehicle with blood alcohol .04 or (nore (") 

• Dnvlng commercial motor vehicle with hlood alcohol .08 or morE! (*) 

e Driving commercial motor vehicle und~r iniluenco of drugs (*) 

• Driving Gommercj!:tl motor vehicle under influence of drugs/sleorlol ( ... ) 

... Refusing blood/breath lest while operating commercial motor vehicle (") 

.. Violating out of service order (11 years) 

l8ack u') T oP,l. 

Other Violations 

• Spesding 20 mprl or more abovG thGposted $p~ed lImit (5 years) 

• Injuring person while racing· felony (11 yI".!MS) 

• Failure 10 stop at the $cenc of a crash· injLlfY (t 1 years) 
• Failure to stop at the scene of a crash death (' 1 year~) 

• FaHl,Jre to stop i:lt the scene of Fl crash - properly damage of $1000 or more (', 
years) 

.. Emergency vehicle violation - death (11 year$) 

.. Vehicular assault or willful stopping. impeding or damaging vahiol1it (1 , years) 

• Blocking access to service facility (11 years) 

.. Attempting to (,tlude police 

• felony offense (11 years) 

• misdemeanor orfense (3 years) 

.. Pas$iny stopped school bus (non·reokles1;J) (3 years) 

http://www.dmv.~lflte.va.\ls/wc\)doc/dlizen/rlrjvers/points 6.asp'!pf=y 

Pug!.' ~ or 4 

4/112008 
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• Operating unsafe vehicle (3 years) 

~"r:n I 11m Sub$crlb$Jo~b t:.t:tmi I E9.t!<:ftl.<hl I P/!.IS:lDi I ytcb Poli~y' 
¢.l Virginil:l. DepArtm(lnt QtM~~I.cs (DMV) ~OO(!f All rI9~~t1Yfld. 

P.O. Box 27412 
Richmond, VA 23269 

h ttp:iJwww.dmVstatc.va.usJwebdoc/cili Lot: !I!Uriv~rsJp(} j nts 6.asp?p[=y 4/!J200f.l 
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:J5f' Eour Point VIOlatio:;;! ~ 
I R,eckl~~J:lr:iving/Sp(!J~qi.Q.9 j fas$l!lg 1.$~oppinglYj~.kiilJg \ Ke£pmg to ttlft1.B.Jgt')11 

followlng/Signa.ling I RaHroad,_Cl.o,$$!rulfJ.1 
B.atlroad Crt?~ing§(C.QmlTl~rc.Jnl) I Other V\o!atio..Ds I 

The number of years Lhat the conviction stays on your DMV record is in parentheses 
uesidt:: each violaLion. An asterisk (*) indioaies lIlI:tt the conviction r&rtli:\.ins on your 
record permanently. Demerit points will :.Ilso be assigned to ymJr recorcl for traffic 
convictions incurred in other states. 

The viQlaliorts listed may change without prior notice. 

Re~kiess Driving/Speeding ',,--~-

• Reckless dfiving • failure to stop betort~ entering a highway (11 years) 

• Speeding {S years) 
• Speeding 10-14 mptr above the posted sp~ed limit (5 years; 

• Speeding 15·19 mph abovF. the posted speed limit (5 yeMS) 
.. Speeding 10- tS mph above the pm:;tf:ld speed Itmlt (5 years} -
Passing 

• Passing when ur'lSafe (3 years) 

• Passing to the let( of approaching vehiole (3 years) 

Stopping/Yielding 

• Failure to drive to the right and stop for police/fire/emergency vehicle (3 years) 
• Failure to stop for pedestriaTl with white erm€l (3 y~ars) 

• FoHure to stop and yield right-of-way {3 YCtlrs) 

• Failure to yield right-or-way (S years) 

• Failure to yield when turning left (3 year!-O) 
• Failure to yield to run~rdl procession (3 years) 

hnp://www.tlmv.SLu!:e.va.lls/wr;-.bcloc/c.ilil!.t;n/drivers/poinl~ 4.asp 

P~ge J of.., 

4/1/2006 
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, . COfl'lllWUWe1.lllh of Virginia Veparlmt;nt of Motor Vehicles 

Keeping to the Right 

• Failure to drive on right half of highway or strtlet (3 years) 

• Failure to kMP to the rj~ht when crossing an intersection (3 Y~lir$) 

• Driving to the left of rotary traffic islOl'ld (3 years) 

Followi ng/Signafing 

I) following too closely (3 years) 

• Failure to signal be1or~ moving from CIHU (:) years) 
<II ImpropGr signal (3 year~) 

Rail road Crossings 

" F::lliure to obey raifroad crossing signal (3 ye~n;) 

I) Failure to stop at railroad gr3do crossing (3 years) 

• Failure to keep to the right at a railroad t:rossing (3 )lQElfS) 

I) Failure to stop passenger-canying vehicle at railroad orade crossing (3 yeArs) 

I) Railroad crossing/stopping (3 years) 
• Improper operation ot crawler-type lractor over rnilroad OrO$~iflg (3 yaMS) 

[Back to TopI 

Railroad Crossings (Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers) 

• Failure lo slow down/stop at s railroad crussmg ( .. ) 

• Failure to have $ufficicmt space TO driVE:! through a railroad crossing Co') 

• Failure to obey traffic contrnl devioe or enforcement official at a railroad crossinQ 
( .. ) 

• Failure to have $uffir.;ient undercarriage clearance at tl ra.ilroAd crossing (*) 

lBack to Top} 

Other Violations 

• Operating (;I motor vehicle while slispended/revoked/restriCl!f:.ild with a blood alCOllOl 
content of .02% or mora (11 years) 

• faiJurE:l to stop at the scene of a crash, unattenaed pr6pelty, cli::l.rnage in excess of 
$500 (11 year::;) 

http://www.dmv.:;tate.Vll.uMwebdoc/cilizcn/driversiroi nlS 4.asp 
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('oml!\()llweulln (yf Vir~inia Department or Mot.m V~hjdcs 

• Failure to stop at. the scene uf (:\ crash, property damage (3 years) 
• Emc::rgency vAhicle violation - properly damage (5 years) 

• Emergency vehicle violation. injury (5 years) 

• Aggressive driving (5 years) 
• Failure to obey traffic signal p years) 

• Failure to obr.y lana direotlonal siQrJi:l1 (3 years) 
• Failure to obey highway lane markings (3 years) 

• Improper backing. Slopping or turning (3 years) 

• Driving the wrong way Or! one-way higllway ur ~treet (3 yc-ars) 

• Impeding/disrupting fun~ral procession (3 years) 

• Disregarding police officer's signal to stop (3 years) 

• Disregarding crossing guard/officer's signal (3 years) 

~Vj[giJlje_Oep12r.lm.t,!f.!.L9.f_MotQr VchICI~$.(P..MY1Z09Qillll. rights rC~C(V_I:I.1, 
P.O. BOX 274'2 

Richmor"ICI, VA 23269 

hnp://www.dmv.state.va.u~/wehd()c/citi7..cJ1/driycrs/p()ints 4.asp 

'·,:.LU";L·' 
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Commonwealth of Virginia Departmenl of Moto! Vchides 

<:.. 

} ~ree .Polnl Violello~ 
C I Speeding I pl!l,~.$.lnglQrj:{hJg I Tuto.!lJg/Hacklng l.sj9lJ~/Slgllals I Ughts I 

Llcens.eslPe!lIliIS.1 CplflmsrQjal Motor VeJllQL~.1 Other \Dolation!? I 

The number of years that the conviction st~ys on your DMV record ilS in parentheses 
beside each violation. An asterisk ("') indicates that the convictiM rl!mains on your 
rfK:ord permansntly. Demerit poInts will also b~ assigned to your record for traftln 
nonvlctions inourred in other states. 

The violations listed n'lsy ChangEs without prior notice. 

Speeding 

• Speeding 1·9 mph ailovs the posted speed limit (S Yl:!ars) 

• Impeding traffic, slow speed (6 years) 

[~o.Qk to Top] 

Passing/Drivi ng 

",., • lmproper pa$$ing (3 years) --1 
(

. '-- .,. -- -.-Impr-o p.cr...p.a~W,g Q!1 the rigtlU~years.)-- -' -- --- --..,>"4--=-

• Improper dr!ving (3 years} 
"-' - • Improper stopping on highway (3 years) -- .. .....J 

• Chnnging course after signaling (3 years) 

• Coasting with gears in neulr<\1 (3 years) 
• Failure to give way In favor of overtaking vcliiCle {3 years} 

• Failure to give way when abreast of another car (3 years) 

• Driving through safety zone (3 years) 

• Driving over flre hose (3 years) 
.. Unauthorized use of crossover On controlled highway (3 years) 

• Driving/riding on sidewalk (3 Yl:ltifS) 

[S"ck to TQpJ 

Turning/Backing 

• Improper turn (3 yeBrs) 
• Improper U-turn (3 years) 

nU.p:/!www.dmv.state.vn.us!we[;ldoc/c1tizcn!urivcrs!points J.asp 4/1/20()o 
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Commonwealth of Virg..inia Dtpartment of MOLor Vehicles 

• Violation Of right turn on red (3 years) 

.. Violation of left turn 01) red (3 years) 

(e~Qh.JO T9.pJ 

Signs/Signals 

• Failure to obey highway sign (3 years} 

• Evading traffic control device (3 yems) 
[Back lu_T_QQJ 

Lights 

.. Driving without lights/exoessive lights (3 years) 

• Failure to dim headlights (3 y~~rs) 

til Parking without proper lights displayed (3 yflarS) 

• Inadequate haZl'm:l lights (3 years) 

I~.a.9..!i.to T opJ 

Licenses/Perm its 

.. No Virgima drivc-:r's Ilcense (3 years) 

til No Virginia JicensE: plale (3 years) 

• Failure ltJ obtain a driver's license (3 ye;;tfs) 

.. No driver's license· vehicle!motorcycie {3 years} 

... Fajlu re to have lic(;;nse revalidatsd (3 year~) 

til Learner's permIt violation (3 years) 

• Permitting unlicensed porson to drive (3 years) 

.. Driving In violation of restricted licanse {restrictions relalJ:'lu to physioollimltaliorJ, 
such as mechanical control davice} (3 years) 

[Back to TopJ 

Commeroial Motor Vehicles 

• Driving commercial motor vehlcl~ with alcohol in blood ("} 

• Oriving commercial motor vehicle without jjc~l1se (3 yenrs) 

• Oriving commercial mOlor vehuJlc with mora than I driver's licen~a (3 years) 

• Driving commercial motor vehicle WittlOut endorsellltlnt{s) (3 years) 

• Driving commercial motor v&hicle without IiCAnse in possession (3 years) 

• Commercial driver's licensA/lnstruc;tion permit violation (3 years) 

• Driving commercial motor vehicle in le1lli.:ln13 of intArstate (3 years) 

• Driving in excess ot 13 hours in a 24-hour period (3 years) 

• Driving public passenger-carryino vaflicle under :iDe (3 yeert» 

http://www.urn\!.state.va.u~/webdoc/cltlzCll/drivers/points 3.asp 
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. CommOllv,'l.:alLh of Virginin Department of Motor V~hides 

• D~iY1I"IS blot::> tl·.::tr.:'POI1.ifl~ ;:, ... I,vvl vi tilul ell will.l,.llH l:t t:>i::lfI;HY 1J~lt (-:\ yearS) 

.. Driving school bUI$ without license (3 ysars) 

• Driving school bus under age (3 ye1:lrs) 

It Vehicle height exct!:eds limit tor tunnels (3 Yf:!ars) 

[Bac,," tq~Q.Rl 

Other Violations 

.. Failure [0 stop at the scene of a crash, unattended property (3 yeArs) 

• Failure to leave the scene ot n cr~sh at the direcUon of officer (3 years) 

• Failure to report a crash, unattended properly, less than $250 damagfl (3 y~arg) 

.. Following/parking within 500 fee1 of fire apparatl.Js (3 years) 

• Emergency vehicle violation (3 years) 

'" Drinking while driving (3 years) 

• Improper driving/riding motorcycle (3 yl!ars) 

• DriVing with TV screon visible to driver (3 ytli'.ifS) 

• Driving while using earphones (3 yearo) 
• Passenger restriction violation (3 y~l!tr~) 

• Curfew violati('ln (3 yea.rs) 

.. HOV violation, second or subsequent offense - North€lr'(] Virginia pl~flning dlstriet 
8 (3 Yl!Jsrs) 

~.~.w.JIm.Q.m.! §3 Subscribe to DMV W.eb . .F..~St:d J p-odo.a.~~ I /i'ivs-1nsl Web P_~IiQy. 

~~-'~i!.9Jni9 DepartmRniQf Motor Vcn!elc.~L(QMV} ;lOP-B,_AII rigttt5 reservod. 
P.O. Sox Z741Z 

Richmond, VA 23269 

hLlp:/!www.urnv.sti:lte.va.us/wehdoc/citizen/driveriO./points 3.liSP 
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S<::-arch - 1 Result - ~ 46.2.R()9. T.JllprOpljr driving; penalty 

Va. Cach: Ann, § 46.Z-869 (2008) 

§ 46 . .2.-869. Improper driving; penalty 

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions or this article, upon the trial of any per!';on charge!d 
with reckless driving where the degree of culpability is sliaht. the court in it!>: dj~r,.p.l"i/"l!'l n"l;:'l. y find 
the accused not guilty or rt:c:kless driving bllt guilty of improper driving. However, an i:lttorney for 
the Commonwealth may reduce a charge of reckless driving to improper driving at any time pri<Jr 
to the court's decision and shall notify the court of such change. Improper driving shall be 
punishable as a traffic infraclion punishilble by a fine of not more thon $ SOD. 

hnps:/ /www.h;xis.cnm/rese:m.:h/retrieve 7 lii=90754c5<:4355h27H5f67 d7 fbd 1.24bJJ6&t:~vc~toc... ·4J1/200f; 



PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT #4 



IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF KANAWHA COUNTY, WEST VIRGINIA 

TERRY LEE PHILLIPS, 

Petitioner, 

v. Civil Action No. 09-MISC-27 
Judge Louis H. Bloom 

WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION 
OF MOTOR VEHICLES, 
JOSEPH CICCHIRRILLO, 
COMMISSIONER, 

Respondents. 

ORDER DENYING 
WRIT OF PROHIBITION 
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On March 31, 2009, this matter came on for a hearing on a "Petition for \Vri~of 
-' 

Prohibition" ("Petition") filed by petitioner, Terry Lee Phillips ("Mr. Phillips"), through 

counsel, Steven M. Thorne. The respondents, West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles 

and Joe E. Miller, as successor to Joseph Cicchirillo as Commissioner (collectively 

"DMV"), appeared by counsel, Janet E. James. 

Upon review of the Petition, the briefs filed by the parties, the arguments made 

by counsel, and the pertinent law, the Court finds that the writ of prohibition should be 

denied for the reasons set forth more fully below. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Mr. Phillips was issued a citation in the State of Virginia for "Reckless Driving" 

on March 27,2007. The citation states that he was driving 85 miles per hour in 65 miles 

per hour zone on a limited access highway. 



2. Mr. Phillips contested the citation. On May 8,2007, Mr. Phillips entered a guilty 

plea to "Improper Driving" pursuant to Virginia Code § 46.2-869. 1 

3. On June 4, 2007, the DMV received an abstract of conviction showing that Mr. 

Phillips had been convicted of "Improper Driving" by the State of Virginia. 

4. West Virginia law does not provide for the offense of "Improper Driving." 

5. Upon review of the conviction and both Virginia and West Virginia law, the 

DMV determined that under its rules, Mr. Phillips's out-of-state conviction should be 

recorded as "Driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control or 

hazardous driving.,,2 Mr. Phillips was assessed three points on his driver record. 

6. Mr. Phillips filed his Petition on the basis that (1) the DMV should not have 

recorded his out-of-state conviction on his West Virginia driver record andlor (2) the 

DMV improperly recorded his "Improper Driving" conviction as a "Hazardous Driving." 

He asks that said offense be removed from his driving record.3 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. A writ of prohibition will issue "in all cases of usurpation and abuse of power, 

when the inferior court has not jurisdiction... or,having such jurisdiction, exceeds its 

1 Virginia Code § 46.2-869 states,"[ U]pon the trial of any person charged with reckless driving where the 
degree of culpability is slight, the court in its discretion may find the accu,sed not guilty of reckless driving 
but guilty of improper driving. However, an attorney for the Commonwealth may reduce a charge of 
reckless driving to improper driving at any time prior to the court's decision and shall notify the court of 
such change. Improper driving shall be punishable as a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of not more 
than $500." 
2 The offense of "Driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control or hazardous 
driving," as outlined by W.Va. C.S.R. § 91-5-7.2, is based on a violation of W.Va. Code § 17C-6-1, which 
provides: (a) No person may drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent 
under the existing conditions and the actual and potential hazards. lil every event speed shall be so 
controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle or other conveyance on or 
entering the highways in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care. 
3 At the hearing, counsel for Mr. Phillips represented to the Court that through his Petition, Mr. Phillips is 
not seeking to challenge the DMV's assessment of three points from his driver'S license record. Rather, 
counsel stated that Mr. Phillips is only seeking to challenge the DMV's designation of the offense as an 
"035" offense for "Hazardous Driving." 

2 



legitimate powers." W.Va. Code § 53-1-1; See also Syl. Pt. 2, Cowie v. Roberts, 173 

W.Va. 64. 312 S.E.2d 35 (1984) (wherein the Supreme Court of Appeals of West 

Virginia found that the DMV is subject to a writ of prohibition when it performs quasi-

judicial acts). A writ of prohibition will not issue, however, to prevent a simple abuse of 

discretion by an inferior court." Syl. pt. 1, State ex reI. Nelson v. Frye, 221 W.Va. 391, 

655 S.E.2d 137 (2007). 

2. In this case, Mr. Phillips appears to be claiming that the DMV exceeded its 

legitimate powers by improperly recording his out-of-state conviction of "Improper 

Driving" and improperly designating the offense as "Hazardous Driving." In determining 

whether to grant relief through a writ of prohibition based on an assertion that a lower 

tribunal has acted beyond its legitimate powers, the Supreme Court of Appeals of West 

Virginia has stated that the following factors should be examined: 

(1) whether the party seeking the writ has no other adequate 
means, such as direct appeal, to obtain the desired relief; (2) 
whether the petitioner will be damaged or prejudiced in a way 
that is not correctable on appeal; (3) whether the lower tribunal's 
order is clearly erroneous as a matter of law; (4) whether the 
lower tribunal's order is an oft repeated error or manifests 
persistent disregard for either procedural or substantive law; and 
(5) whether the lower tribunal's order raises new and important 
problems or issues ofiaw of first impression. 

Syl. pt. 1, State ex reI. Nelson v. Frye, 221 W.Va. 391, 655 S.E.2d 137 (citing Syl. Pt. 4, 

State ex reI. Hoover v. Berger, 199 W.Va. 12, 483 S.E.2d 12 (1996)). The Supreme 

Court of Appeals has stated that these factors should serve as "general guidelines" and in 

particular, the third factor, regarding the existence of clear error as a matter of law, 

should be given substantial weight. Id 

3 



3. Applying these standards to the present case, the Court concludes that Mr. Phillips 

has not demonstrated that the DMV's decision to record his out-of-state conviction was 

clearly erroneous, or that it was clearly erroneous for the DMV to record the offense on 

his driver record as "Driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control 

or hazardous driving." 

4. Pursuant to the Driver License Compact, W.Va. Code § 17B-IA-I et seq, the 

DMV received an abstract of conviCtion from the State of Virginia regarding Mr. 

Phillips's conviction. The Driver License Compact is a contractual agreement among 

certain states, including West Virginia, which seek to promote compliance with each 

party state's motor vehicles laws by empowering the licensing authority of a "home 

state" to revoke or suspend the driver's license of a resident motorist based upon an out-

of-state conviction for certain types of motor vehicle offenses. Specifically, Article III of 

the Driver License Compact states:· 

The licensing authority of a party state shall report each conviction 
of a person from another party state occurring within its 
jurisdiction to the licensing authority of the home state of the 
licensee. Such report shall clearly identify the person convicted; 
describe the violation specifying the section of the statute, code or 
ordinance violated; identify the court in which action was taken; 
indicate whether a plea of guilty or not guilty was entered, or the 
conviction was a result of the forfeiture of bail, bond or other 
security; and shall include any special findings made in connection 
therewith. 

If the out-of-state conviction involves an offense, which is expressly enumerated in the 

Driver License Compact, then the "home state" must give the same effect to the foreign 

conviction. See W.Va. Code 17-B-IA-l, Article IV(a).4 If, however, the out-of-state 

4 The offenses specifically enumerated in the Driver License Compact are as follows: (1) manslaughter or 
negligent homicide resulting from the operation ofa motor vehicle; (2) driving a motor vehicle while under 
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conviction is for an offense, which is not described in the Driver License Compact, 

Article IV(b) states that the "licensing authority in the home state shall give such effect to 

the conduct as is provided by the laws of the home state." 

5. Under West Virginia law, the DMV is authorized to suspend or revoke the license 

orany resident of West Virginia upon receiving notice of the conviction of such person in 

another state of an offense, which if committed in West Virginia, would be grounds for 

suspension or revocation of the license. W.Va. Code, § 17B-3-3. Based on W.Va. Code § 

17B-3-3, and other statutory authority, DMV legislative rules provide that if any licensee 

of the State of West Virginia is corivicted in any other jurisdiction, of an offense, which if 

committed in West Virginia, would be grounds for suspension or revocation of the 

license, then the DMV shall enter the offense and a certain point total on the licensee's 

driver record, which is maintained by the DMV. W.Va. C.S.R. § 91-5-7.2. The rule then 

outlines general descriptions of offenses, the statutes upon which they are based, and the 

point value assigned to violations of those offenses. See W.Va. C.S.R. § 91-5-7.2. 

6. In this case, Mr. Phillips was cited for "Reckless Driving," based on speeding 

twenty (20) miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit. See Virginia Code § 

46.2-862. Mr. Phillips ultimately, however, pled guilty to "Improper Driving" under 

Virginia Code § 46.2-869, which states as follows: 

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this article, upon the 
trial of any person charged with reckless driving where the 
degree of culpability is slight, the court in its discretion may find 
the accused not guilty of reckless driving but guilty of improper 
driving. However, an attorney for the Commonwealth may 
reduce a charge of reckless driving to improper driving at any 
time prior to the court's decision and shall notify the court of 

the influence; (3) any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used; (4) and failure to stop and 
render aid in the event of a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury to another. 
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such change. Improper driving· shall be punishable as a traffic 
infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $500.5 

7. First, Mr. Phillips asserts that the DMV should not have recorded the out-of-state 

conviction on his driver record based on W.Va. Code § 17C-6-1 (i), which states: 

If an owner or driver is convicted in another state for the offense 
of driving above the maximum speed limit on a controlled-access 
highway or interstate highway and if the maximum speed limit in 
the other state is less than the maximum speed limit for a 
comparable controlled-access highway or interstate highway in 
this state, and if the evidence shows that the motor vehicle was 
being operated at ten miles per hour or less above what would be 
the maximum speed limit for a comparable controlled-access 
highway or interstate highway in this state, then a certified 
abstract of the judgment on the conviction shall not be 
transmitted to the division of motor vehicles or, if transmitted, 
shall not be recorded by the division. 

(emphasis added). Because he pled down his "Reckless Driving" charge for driving 

twenty (20) miles per hour over the speed limit to "Improper Driving," Mr. Phillips 

argues that he was necessarily convicted of driving somewhere between one (1) and 

nineteen (19) miles per hour over the speed limit. Therefore, under W.Va. Code § 17C-

6-1 (i), Mr. Phillips asserts the DMV should not have recorded the offense on his driver 

record because he was within the speed restrictions set forth by that statute. 

8. The Court concludes, however, that the offense to which Mr. Phillips pled guilty-

"Improper Driving" - does not contain any speed specific restrictions. As it is not clear 

from the record that Mr. Phillips wa,s convicted of driving ten (10) miles or less below the 

speed limit on a highway or interstate in West Virginia, the Court cannot say that the 

5 Although "Improper Driving" is set forth as a crime by statute, Virginia law does not further define the 
offense or outline the elements of the offense. 

6 



DMV exceeded its legitimate power by recording the out-of-state conviction on Mr. 

Phillips's driver record. 

9. Next, Mr. Phillips asserts that even if the out-of-state conviction should have been 

recorded under West Virginia law, the DMV improperly designated the conviction as 

"Driving too fast for the conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control or hazardous 

driving." Mr. Phillips argues that under Virginia law "Improper Driving" is a "less 

serious" offense that specifically equates to "Speeding between one and nine miles per 

hour above the posted speed limit." Specifically, Virginia Code § 46.2-492(D)(3), which 

addresses Virginia's Point System for rating convictions of traffic offenses, states: 

Traffic offenses of a less serious nature such as improper driving 
in violation of § 46.2-869, speeding between one and nine miles 
per hour above the posted speed limit, improper passing in 
violation of § 46.2-838, failure to obey a highway sign in 
violation of § 46.2-830 and other offenses of a less serious nature 
as the Commissioner may designate, shall be assigned three 
demerit points. 

10. The Court concludes, however, that although "Improper Driving" and "Speeding 

between one and nine miles per hour above the posted speed limit" may be in a similar 

category of offenses, Mr. Phillips's plea of guilty to "Improper Driving" does not 

necessarily mean that he was convicted of driving ten (l0) miles or less below the speed 

limit. Rather, Virginia law sets forth those offenses separately. Without any evidence of 

the exact speed restrictions Mr. Phillips was found guilty of violating, the Court cannot 

conclude that the DMV's decision to record Mr. Phillips's out-of-state conviction as 

"Driving too fast for conditions, failure to keep vehicle under control or hazardous 

driving" was clearly erroneous as a matter of law. 

7 



DECISION 

Therefore, based on the foregoing, the Court finds that Mr. Phillip's" Petition for 

Writ of Prohibition" must be DENIED. There being nothing further, this action shall be 

DISMISSED and removed from the docket of the Court. 

The objection of any party aggrieved by entry of this order is noted and preserved . 

.. The Clerk is hereby DIRECTED to forward a certified copy of this Order to all 

counsel of record. 

ENTERED thiSV day of April 2009 . 

. ~ ". 

Date:_4&6f 
Cert!tied COPies se~. _ 

_ ccu .... ~. -Parti ~r 
_other -c::...J 
By: ~ei 
-tertif~c . 1!Ae. 

~ 
epl.lty CirCUIt Ci9l"R 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I, Steven M. Thome, do hereby certify that an original and nine (9) 

copies of the foregoing Designation of Record, Supreme Court Docketing 

Statement and Petition for Appeal on behalf of Terry Lee Phillips, was 

served via the U.S. Mail, postage prepaid to: 

Clerk of Supreme Court 
East Wing, Room 317 

State Capitol 
Charleston, WV 253050 

and a true copy of the same was served on the following via the U.S. Mail, 
postage prepaid in an envelope addressed to: 

West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles 
Joseph CicchirriUo, Commissioner 
1300 Kanawha Blvd. E. Building 3 

Charleston, WV 25317 

Terry Phillips 
·160 Madison Avenue 
Madison, WV 25130 

On this the V day of July, 2009. 

ST~ ~(#5534) 
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER 
Cook & Cook Attorneys 
62 Avenue C 
Post Office Box 190 
Madison, WV 25130 
(304) 369-0110 

~-- -. 



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I, Steven M. Thome, do hereby certify that an original and nine (9) 

copies of the foregoing Brief on behalf of Appellant, Terry Lee Phillips, 

was served via the U.S. Mail, postage prepaid to: 

Clerk of Supreme Court 
East Wing, Room 317 

State Capitol 
Charleston, WV 253050 

and a true copy of the same was served on the following via the U.S. Mail, 
postage prepaid in an envelope addressed to: 

Janet James, Esquire 
Assistant Attorney General 

1900 Kanawha Blvd. E., Room E-26 
Charleston, WV 25305 

Terry Phillips 
160 Madison Avenue 
Madison, WV 25130 

On this the l ! day of January, 2010. 

~~;;z 
ST M. THORNE (#5534) 
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER 
Cook & Cook Attorneys 
62 Avenue C 
Post Office Box 190 
Madison, WV 25130 
(304) 369-0110 


