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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF APPEALS OF WEST VIRGINIA

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA,

VS. ' Number: 35520

DENNIS R. GIBSON,
Defendant.

DEFENDANT’S BRIEF AS TO
CERTIFIED QUESTION

Comes now the Défendant, Dennis R. Gibson, by counsel, Nancy S. Fraley, and
does timely file with this Court, his Defendant’s Brief, as to the Certified Question from

Fayette County, West Virginia which this Court has accepted for review.

1 KIND OF PROCEEDING AND NATURE OF RULING

On the 11" day of December, 2009, an Order was entered Certifying to
this Court a question concerning West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d). The question in
simplest terms is, for a person to be charged with third offense Domestic Battery or
Domestic Assault, as defined by West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d), do the two prior
convictions and the incident which gives rise to the present prosecution, both have to
occur within ten years of the charged offense. The Court below answered this question in

the affirmative, however, certified the question to this Court.




IL. STATEMENT OF FACTS

On September 8, 2009, the Fayette Coilnty Grahd Jury returned an indictment
against Dennis R. Gibson, your defendant, for “third offense 'doméstic battery”. That
indictment alleged that the respondent made physical contact of an insulting or provoking
nature with a family/household member, after having been previously convicted of
domestic battery on February 2, 2004 and of domestic battery on June 29, 1998.!
Discovery was provided by the State at the time of Mr. Gibson’s arraignment on
September 19, 2009, including the documents which show that on February 2, 2004, your
Respondent pled no contest to first offense domestic battery with the sentence of a one
hundred dollars ($100.00) fine plus court costs, and that on June 29, 1998, your
Respondent pled guilty to first offense domestic battery with the sentence of twenty-four
(24) hours in jail, and a fifty ($50.00) fine plus court costs. Following arraignment,
motions where filed on the Respondent’s behalf including a Motion in Limine to suppress
and disallow the State from mentioning the prior conviction of the Respondent, for
domestic battery conviction .on June 29, 1998. When the Court became aware of this

Motion in Limine he asked the parties to submit proposed orders to address the question

' The entire charging language within the indictment reads:

The Grand Jurors of the State of West Virginia, in and for the body of the County of Fayette, upon
their oaths, and now attending the said Court, present that DENNIS R. GIBSON, on or about the 5t day of
May, 2009, in the said County of Fayette, committed the offense of “third offense domestic battery” in that
he did unlawfully, feloniously and intentionally make physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature
with Stephanie N. Adkins, a family/household member, by striking her in the facial area with his fist,
striking her in the stomach and arms, pulling her hair and/or pushing her to the ground, after having been
previously convicted of the offense of domestic battery on February 2, 2004, in the Magistrate Court of
Fayette County, West Virginia; and after having been previously convicted of the offense of domestic
battery on June 29, 1998, in the Magistrate Court of Fayette County, West Virginia, against the peace and
dignity of the State. W.Va. Code §61-2-28(d)
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which has now been certified to this Court. The ultimate outcome is the December 1 1,

2009 Order from which the State appeals and which is attached to this Response.

III. PETITIONER’S ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR
| The Trial Court Erred In Finding That Both of the Prior Convictions of
Domestic Battery or Domestic Assault Must Occur Within Ten Years of
an Offense Alleged to be a Third Offense Domestic Batter or Domestic

Assault.

IV.  STANDARD OF REVIEW
The question raised calls for the interpretation of a statute, which is a legal

determination, and is subject to de novo review. State ex rel Cooper v. Caperton, 196

W.Va. 208, 407 S.E.2d 162 (1996) and Appalachian Power Co. v. State Tax Dept. of

West Virginia, 195 W.Va. 573, 466 S.E.2d 424 (1995).

V. ARGUMENT

Where did this language found in West Virginia Code §61-2-28 come from? In a
preliminary search of the statutes which criminalize domestic violence nation wide, your
Defendant could not find similar language. Some states such as Florida and Arkansas
enhance based upon whether or not the violence occurs in the presence or hearing of a

child, Wyoming, Michigan, Ohio and Maine do not appear to have any type of time




limitation for prior offenses. Kansas imposes clearly, a time frame of five years.’
Nevada clearly imposes a time frame of seven years.> Respondent could locate no
criminal code which calls for a particular time frame for one offense and not another if
that is in fact what the Legislature was attempting to do in West Virginia Code §61-2-

28(d).

West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d) provides that a person who has been convicted
of third or subsequent violation of domestic battery, as deﬁnerd in subsection (a) of that
statue, or domestic assault as defined in subsection (b) of that statute, or of West Virginia
Code §61-2-9, [the standard malicious wounding, unlawful wounding, battery and assault
statute], and if the victim was a family, intimate partner or household member, or has
previously been granted a pretrial diversion for any of the above offenses, or any
combination of such convictions or diversions is guilty of a felony if the offense occurs
within ten years of a prior conviction of any of these offenses. It is fair to say that the
lion’s share of the language within this statute is spenf outlining the various individuals
who constitute ‘family, intimate partner or household member’. A secondary focus is on
what type of convictions and diversion agreements should be used for enhancement.
Does the language “if the offense occurs within ten years of a prior conviction of any of
these offenses refer back to the types of convictions which may be used or does this

language mean that the ten year statue of limitation which is contained refers to only one

? See K.S.A. 1999 Supp. 21-3412(c)(3): If, within five years immediately preceding commission of the
crime, a person is convicted of a violation of this crime a third or subsequent time under circumstances

which constitute a domestic battery ...
* See 1997 Nev. Stat., ch.476 §1, at 1799: For the third and any subsequent offense within the immediately

preceding seven years...



of the two required offenses necessary to enhance what would normally be a

misdemeanor to a felony? There is no clear answer.

The Petitioner’s position is that the language within this statue is not unclear or

ambiguous, the State and the Court below disagree.

West Virginia has three statutes which allows for the enhancement of
misdemeanor behavior to feiony status based upon prior convictions which occurred
within a certain time period, driving under the influence of alcohol, shoplifting and
domestic battery. The driving under the influence of alcohol statute, found in West
Virginia Code §17C-5-2(m), is clear, “...the following convictions are to be regarded as
convictions under this section: any conviction...which occurred within the ten-year
period immediately preceding the date of arrest in the current proceeding”. The
shoplifting statute found in West Virginia Code‘§6] -3A-4(e), is clear, “In determining the
number of prior shoplifting convictions.., the court shall disregard all such convictions
occurring more than seven years prior to the shoplifting offense in question.” The

domestic violence statute found in West Virginia Code §61-2-28, is not clear.

The State was correct, therefore, in citing Myers v. Murensky .162 W.Va. 5, 245

S.E.2d 920 (1978). Inthat case, which was considering the negligent homicide statue as
it existed at that time, this Court noted that the statute being reviewed had two possible

meanings, that (then as now) the Court did not have the benefit of legislative history as to




the legislature’s attended meaning, and therefore the ambiguous statute was to be strictly

construed against the State and in favor of the defendant.’

To find West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d) to be ambiguous and therefore subject to
being strictly construed, would also be consistent with the direction provided in syllabus

point 2. of State v. McCain, 211 W.Va. 61, 561 S.E.2d 783 (2002) which calls for a

statute to be read and applied in accord with the spirit and purpose of the law in general.
As outlined above to read West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d) to require that both prior
convictions, to be used for purposes of enhancement, be within ten years of the current
allegation, would be consistent with the time frames provided for generally within West
Virginia Code as evidenced in West Virginia Code §17C-5-2(m) and West Virginia Code

§61-3A-4(e).

Finally, for this Court to find either that the language within West Virginia Code
§61-2-28(d) is ambiguous and therefore should be strictly construed against the State or
that the language already requires that both convictions must have been secured within

the ten year time frame, would be consistent with this Court’s rulings in State v. Hulbert,

209 W.Va. 217, 544 S.E.2d 919 (2001). This case is the only West Virginia Supreme
Court case which has dealt directly with West Virginia Code §61-2-28(d). The Court
found, absent any language concerning out of State convictions, that out of State
convictions for crimes of domestic violence may be used for purposes of enhancement:

“We reach this conclusion by looking at what the Legislature and this Court have said in

* Myers v. Murensky, 162 W.Va. 5,245 S.E.2d 920 (1978) syllabus point 1. quoted by this Court again in
State v. McClain. 211 W.Va. 61, 561 S.E2d 783 (2002) syilabus point 3.




the matter of enhanced penalties for another societal ill — driving a motor vehicle under

the influence of drugs or alcohol.” State v. Hulbert, id., at 222

CONCLUSION

Therefore, for the reasons raised by this response and those outlined in the
attached Order, a prior conviction or diversion, of domestic violence may only be used
for purposes of enhancement if it occurred within ten years of current alleged offense.

The ruling of the Circuit Judge as to this Certified Question was proper.

DENNIS R. GIBSON

/ By Counsel
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/' NANCY S. /F‘RALEY (5764) ﬁ—\
Counsel for the Defendant
PUBLIC'DEFENDER J
102 FAYETTE AVENUE

FAYETTEVILLE, WV 25840
(304) 574-2583
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Nancy S. Fraley, Counsel for the Defendant Dennis R. Gibson, do hereby
certify that a true copy of the foregoing DEFENDANT’S BRIEF IAS TO CERTIFIED

QUESTION was provided by hand delivery on the 21 day of May, 2010, to:

Carl L. Harris

Fayette County Prosecuting Attorney
108 East Maple Avenue
Fayetteville, WV 25840
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NANCY S. FRALEY (5764) ]
Counsel for the Defendant

PUBLIC DEFENDER

102 FAYETTE AVENUE

FAYETTEVILLE, WV 25840
(304) 574-2583
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