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No.  22-0351 – Mason County Public Service District v. The Public Service Commission  
      of West Virginia and Ralph and Carla Huff 

 

WOOTON, Justice, dissenting, joined by Chief Justice Hutchison: 

 

  The complainants, Ralph and Carla Huff, had their water service terminated 

due to nonpayment and later sought to have that service reconnected.  The petitioner, 

Mason County Public Service District (“the District), charged the Huffs separate fees for 

disconnection of water service ($50.00) and then for reconnection ($50.00).  The Huffs 

complained to the respondent, The Public Service Commission (“PSC”), that they were 

required to pay the arrearage they owed before the District would restore their water 

service, raising no specific complaint as to either the disconnect fee or the reconnect fee.  

Nonetheless, the PSC exercised jurisdiction over the fee issue, determining that the 

disconnect fee was not really a fee, but “the practice” of charging a disconnect fee.  The 

PSC determined that the District’s “practice” of charging a disconnect fee was an 

“unreasonable practice” under the PSC’s jurisdictional authority as set forth in West  

Virginia Code section 24-2-7(a) (2018).1 See also W. Va. Code § 24-2-1(b)(2) & (7) (Supp. 

 
 1 West Virginia Code § 24-2-7(a) provides:   
 

(a) Whenever, under the provisions of this chapter, the 
commission shall find any regulations, measurements, 
practices, acts or service to be unjust, unreasonable, 
insufficient or unjustly discriminatory, or otherwise in 
violation of any provisions of this chapter, or shall find that any 
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2022).2  The majority affirms the PSC’s exercise of jurisdiction in this case and, in so 

doing, disregards the Legislature’s 2015 transfer of the authority to set rates, fees and 

 
service is inadequate, or that any service which is demanded 
cannot be reasonably obtained, the commission shall determine 
and declare, and by order fix reasonable measurement, 
regulations, acts, practices or services, to be furnished, 
imposed, observed and followed in the state in lieu of those 
found to be unjust, unreasonable, insufficient, or unjustly 
discriminatory, inadequate or otherwise in violation of this 
chapter, and shall make such other order respecting the same 
as shall be just and reasonable. 
 

 2 West Virginia Code section 24-2-1(b)(2) & (7) provides: 
 

(b) The jurisdiction of the commission over political 
subdivisions of this state providing separate or combined water 
and/or sewer services and having at least 4,500 customers and 
annual combined gross revenues of $3 million or more that are 
political subdivisions of the state is limited to: 
 
 . . . . 

 
(2) Regulation of measurements, practices, acts, or services, 
as granted and described in § 24-2-7 of this code; 
 
 . . . . 

 
(7) Customers of water and sewer utilities operated by a 
political subdivision of the state may bring formal or informal 
complaints regarding the commission’s exercise of the powers 
enumerated in this section and the commission shall resolve 
these complaints: Provided, That any formal complaint filed 
under this section that is based on the act or omission of the 
political subdivision shall be filed within 30 days of the act or 
omission complained of and the commission shall resolve the 
complaint within 180 days of filing. The 180-day period for 
resolution of the dispute may be tolled by the commission until 
the necessary information showing the basis of the matter 
complained of is filed by the political subdivision: Provided, 
however, That whenever the commission finds any regulations, 
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charges for a Locally Rate Regulated Public Service District (“LLR”), which includes the 

District, from the PSC to the county commission which created the PSD.  See W. Va. Code 

§ 16-13A-9(a)(2)(E) (2021).3  Therefore, I respectfully dissent.   

 
measurements, practices, acts, or service to be unjust, 
unreasonable, insufficient, or unjustly discriminatory, or 
otherwise in violation of any provisions of this chapter, or finds 
that any service is inadequate, or that any service which is 
demanded cannot be reasonably obtained, the commission 
shall determine and declare, and by order fix reasonable 
measurement, regulations, acts, practices, or services, to be 
furnished, imposed, observed, and followed in lieu of those 
found to be unjust, unreasonable, insufficient, or unjustly 
discriminatory, inadequate, or otherwise in violation of this 
chapter, and shall make such other order respecting the same 
as shall be just and reasonable: Provided further, That if the 
matter complained of would affect rates, fees, and charges so 
fixed by the political subdivision providing separate or 
combined water and/or sewer services, the rates, fees, or 
charges shall remain in full force and effect until set aside, 
altered, or amended by the commission in an order to be 
followed in the future. 
 

 3 West Virginia Code section 16-13A-9(a)(2)(E) provides: 
 

(2) The board of a public service district with at least 4,500 
customers and annual combined gross revenue of $3 million 
providing water or sewer service separately or in combination 
may make, enact, and enforce all needful rules in connection 
with the enactment or amendment of rates, fees, and charges 
of the district. At a minimum, these rules shall provide for: 
 
 . . . . 
 
(E) Rates, fees, and charges approved by resolution of the 
board shall be forwarded in writing to the county commission 
with the authority to appoint the members of the board. The 
county commission shall publish notice of the proposed 
revised rates, fees, and charges by a Class I legal 
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   This Court recognized the transfer of the authority to set rates, fees and 

charges from the PSC to the District, an LLR, in Pool v. Greater Harrison County Public 

Service District, 241 W. Va. 233, 821 S.E.2d 14 (2018), as follows:   

 Prior to 2015, when any public service district wanted 
to change the rates it charged for water or sewer service, state 
law required the public service district to obtain approval from 
the PSC. In 2015, the Legislature adopted deregulation 
measures to limit the PSC’s jurisdiction and to exempt larger 
public service districts from this requirement. After 2015, 
“larger” public service districts are statutorily defined as 
having at least 4,500 customers and are only required to obtain 
approval of a rate change from a local elected body, such as a 
county commission. The Legislature based the 2015 
amendments on its finding that larger public service districts 
are “most fairly and effectively regulated by the local 
governing body with respect to rates, borrowing and capital 
projects.” W.Va. Code § 24-1-1(j) [2015]. 

 

241 W. Va. at 236, 821 S.E.2d at 17 (emphasis added and footnotes omitted).   We also 

stated in Pool that  

 [t]he Legislature plainly intended to limit the PSC’s 
jurisdiction when it adopted West Virginia Code §§ 16-13A-

 
advertisement in compliance with the provisions of § 59-3-1 
et seq. of this code. Within 45 days of receipt of the proposed 
rates, fees, and charges, the county commission shall take 
action to approve, modify, or reject the proposed rates, fees, 
and charges, in its sole discretion. If, after 45 days, the county 
commission has not taken final action to approve, modify, or 
reject the proposed rates, fees, and charges, as presented to the 
county commission, shall be effective with no further action 
by the board or county commission. In any event, this 45-day 
period shall be mandatory unless extended by the official 
action of both the board proposing the rates, fees, and charges, 
and the appointing county commission. 
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9(a)(2) and 24-2-4a. When the Legislature modified those 
statutes in 2015, it perceived that the water and sewer rates 
charged by larger public service districts are best regulated by 
local elected officials and not the PSC. See W.Va. Code § 24-
1-1(j). These statutes limited the PSC to regulating only the 
rates charged by smaller public service districts. 

 

241 W. Va. at 240, 821 S.E.2d at 21 (emphasis added).   

 

  Notwithstanding this Court’s acknowledgment of the District’s jurisdiction 

to fix its rates and fees it charges and the Legislature’s action in limiting the jurisdiction of 

the PSC in this regard, in the instant case the majority simply disregards the legislative 

grant of authority to the District. Critically, West Virginia Code section 16-13A-9 

expressly allows the District to establish fees in accordance with the provisions of West 

Virginia Code sections 16-13A-1 to -25 (2021), entitled “Public Service Districts,” as 

follows: 

(a)(1) The board may make, enact, and enforce all needful rules 
in connection with the acquisition, construction, improvement, 
extension, management, maintenance, operation, care, 
protection, and the use of any public service properties owned 
or controlled by the district. The board shall establish, in 
accordance with this article, rates, fees, and charges for the 
services and facilities it furnishes, which shall be sufficient at 
all times, notwithstanding the provisions of any other law or 
laws, to pay the cost of maintenance, operation, and 
depreciation of the public service properties and principal of 
and interest on all bonds issued, other obligations incurred 
under the provisions of this article, and all reserve or other 
payments provided for in the proceedings which authorized the 
issuance of any bonds under this article. The schedule of the 
rates, fees, and charges may be based upon: 
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 . . . . 

(E) Any other basis or classification which the board may 
determine to be fair and reasonable, taking into consideration 
the location of the premises served and the nature and extent 
of the services and facilities furnished. 

 

Id. § 16-13A-9(a)(1)(E) (emphasis added).  Accordingly, the District did exactly that which 

the Legislature commanded:  it adopted and approved charges for the services and facilities 

it furnishes to “pay for the cost of maintenance, operation, and depreciation” of its 

“properties and principal of and interest on all bonds issued, other obligations incurred 

under the provisions of this article, and all reserve or other payments provided for in the 

proceedings which authorized the issuance of any bonds under this article.”  Id.  The 

District represented that it 

is the largest physical public service district (“PSD”) in the 
state – with 519 miles of main, serving all of the 
unincorporated areas of Mason County and reaching into three 
other counties. The average round trip from the District’s home 
base to terminate water service is 60 miles and takes two hours 
of personnel time. On average, the District incurs expenses of 
$116.10 per disconnection or reconnection performed. The 
disconnect and reconnect fees do not fully recover the 
District’s expenses in performing these services; however, 
these fees diminish the extent to which the District’s regular 
paying customers subsidize those who fail to make 
arrangements to continue service.  

(Internal citations to appendix record omitted).   

 

  Despite the District’s express grant of statutory authority to establish its rates 

and fees using a cost-based approach, the PSC undertook its own investigation into whether 
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the disconnect and reconnect fees charged in this case were reasonable.  The PSC based its 

exercise of its jurisdiction on its conclusion that the “disconnect fee” was not actually a fee 

but a “practice of charging the fee.”  W. Va. Code § 24-2-1(b)(2) & (7) and § 24-2-7(a); 

see supra notes 1 & 2.   

 

  In support of its position, the PSC first relied upon its Rules for the 

Government of Water Utilities, W. Va. Code R. §§ 150-7-1 to -11.7.6 (2021) (“Water 

Rules”). The PSC argued that under the Water Rules, customers can only be charged 

reconnect fees, not disconnect fees. See id. § 150-7-6.8.3.a (effective September 14, 2021).4  

The PSC also argues that historically it has disfavored disconnect fees and denied requests 

by utilities to charge such fees because “disconnect fees amount to a double-recovery 

 
 4 West Virginia Code of State Rules section 150-1-6.8.3.a allows for a charge for 
reconnection of water supply as follows:  “Whenever the supply of water is turned off for 
violation of rules, non-payment of bills, or fraudulent use of water, the utility may make a 
charge as set forth in its tariff for reestablishment of service.”  Id. (emphasis added).  
However, neither party mentioned nor argued the fact that the Water Rules also provide 
for a “disconnect fee” under the express subsection heading “Utility discontinuance of 
service” as follows: 
 

6.8.2.  Once a disconnected customer has paid his delinquency 
in full, or the utility has agreed to enter into a deferred payment 
agreement with the customer, and all disconnect and/or 
reconnect fees have been paid, the utility shall reconnect the 
customer’s water service as soon as possible but no later than 
twenty-four (24) hours from the time the customer pays all 
disconnect and reconnect fees. 
 

Id. (emphasis added).  Moreover, a review of the Water Rules reveals no clearly expressed 
“disapproval” of disconnect fees.   
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because expenses associated with disconnecting services are part of it operation and 

maintenance expenses for which the Commission or the county commission allows 

recovery when establishing service rates.” See Jane Lew Pub. Serv. Dist., Case No. 08-

1867-PWD-T-PC-CN, at p.15 (Recommended Decision entered Mar. 13, 2009) (“It is 

reasonable to deny the inclusion of a disconnection fee in Jane Lew’s tariff since it is 

current Commission policy to only allow a disconnection fee when a water utility is 

termination water service for a delinquent sewer bill under contract with a sewer utility.”) 

and Fountain Pub. Serv. Dist., Case No. 09-0443-PWD-T-PW, at 2 (Recommended 

Decision entered Sept. 8, 2009) (“Allowing a water utility to impose a disconnect fee may 

ostensibly result in double recovery by the utility, since normally this cost of service item 

is recouped in a utility’s base rates.”).   

 

  Despite the PSC’s claim that its Water Rules only allow fees for reconnecting 

service, not disconnecting it, and its pronouncement that disconnect fees are disfavored,5 

 
 5 Interestingly, neither party mentions the order entered in Mason County Public 
Service District and Point Pleasant Water Works, Case No. 08-1831-PSD-W-PC-T 
(Commission Order entered January 28, 2009), wherein the Commission, discussing 
certain fees including disconnect, reconnect, and administrative, explains that  

 [r]egarding approval of the fees, it is established 
Commission policy to permit utilities, with the exception of 
motor carrier utilities, to institute a charge for disconnecting 
and reconnecting customers who are disconnected due to 
failure to pay bills, provided the charge is reasonable and is 
reflected in the utility’s tariff on file with the Commission. 
Arlington & Glen Falls Water Ass’n, Case No. 95-1234-W-T 
(Comm’n Order Aug. 7, 1996). The Commission policy is 
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neither of the relevant Water Rules nor the aforementioned recommended decisions 

support the PSC’s overarching position in regard to the determinative jurisdictional issue: 

that a disconnect fee is not actually a fee but rather a “practice of charging the fee.” Indeed, 

the recommended decisions and the Water Rules belie the PSC’s argument, as there is no 

mention of a disconnect fee “practice” discussed in either.  In short, what is readily gleaned 

from an examination of the foregoing is that the PSC created its “practice of charging the 

fee” rubric out of whole cloth in order to justify its exercise of jurisdiction under the 

auspices of West Virginia Code section 24-2-1(b)(2) & (7) and section 24-2-7(a).  See 

supra notes 1 & 2.   

 

   The PSC’s assertion of jurisdiction – which is, essentially, an argument that 

its general grant of jurisdictional authority trumps the specific grant of jurisdictional 

authority given to LLRs and the District – is untenable under our well-established rules of 

statutory construction.  Ordinarily, where two statutes apply to the same subject matter, the 

more specific statute prevails over the general statute. “When faced with a choice between 

 
based on reasoning that a utility should be permitted to recover 
costs associated with disconnecting and reconnecting a 
delinquent customer directly from the customer incurring the 
cost in order to directly match the cost causer to the cost, rather 
than spreading the cost throughout the entire customer base.  

No. 08-1831-PSD-W-PC-T, at p. 2 (emphasis added).  However, the existence of any PSC 
policy disfavoring the assessment of a disconnect fee is of no moment to the determinative 
issue in this case, which is that the PSC lacks jurisdiction over LLR’s in regard to the 
establishment of rates and fees.  See W. Va. Code § 16-13A-9(a)(1)(E). 
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two statutes, one of which is couched in general terms and the other of which specifically 

speaks to the matter at hand, preference generally is accorded to the specific statute.” 

Newark Ins. Co. v. Brown, 218 W. Va. 346, 351, 624 S.E.2d 783, 788 (2005) (emphasis 

added).   We previously have held that “[t]he general rule of statutory construction requires 

that a specific statute be given precedence over a general statute relating to the same subject 

matter where the two cannot be reconciled.” Syl. Pt. 1, UMWA by Trumka v. Kingdon, 174 

W. Va. 330, 325 S.E.2d 120 (1984) (emphasis added).  Accordingly, between the general 

authority of the Commission to investigate unreasonable acts or practices by a utility, § 24-

2-7, and the specific delegation of authority to LLRs and locally elected county 

commissions to enact rates, fees and charges, § 24-1-1 (j) and § 16-13A-9(a), the specific 

grant of authority prevails.    

 

  To hold otherwise, as the majority has done in this case, invalidates the 

District’s statutory jurisdiction to impose a disconnect fee based solely on the PSC’s use 

of semantics.  The majority’s decision to uphold the PSC’s exercise of jurisdiction over the 

disconnect fees herein effectively transfers jurisdiction over any “rates, fees, and charges” 

established by an LLR for the services and facilities it furnishes, see W. Va. Code § 16-

13A-9(a)(1)(E), back to the PSC.  Stated otherwise, anytime the PSC decides it wants to 

exercise jurisdiction in a case, all it has to do in order to circumvent the Legislature’s 

transfer of jurisdiction to LLRs is to designate the fees as “measurements, practices, acts, 
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or services.” See id. § 24-2-1(b)(2) & (7).  This clearly was not what the Legislature 

intended. 

  Based upon the foregoing, I respectfully dissent.  I am authorized to state that 

Chief Justice Hutchison joins in this dissenting opinion.  


